Dr. Gerry Herbison

Assistant Professor of Management Studies and Director of the CLF Program, The American College

Dr. Gerry Herbison, DBA, ChFC®, CFP®, CASL®, CLF®, is currently Assistant Professor of Management Studies and Director of the CLF® Program with The American College. Gerry has partnered with the college’s Center for Ethics in its mission of raising the level of ethical behavior in the financial services industry. As part of this partnership, Gerry has played a key role in a pioneering study on perceptions of the role that gender plays in the insurance sales industry, trained field leaders in distinguishing between ethics and compliance, and worked with students on recognizing and approaching ethical dilemmas. 

Dr. Herbison's work has also focused on the question of ‘raising your hand’ when witnessing ethical issues or unethical behavior in the workplace. Recognizing that the financial services industry depends on courageous people to tell the truth when they see ethical problems, Gerry works to find ways to protect powerless people who raise issues and encourage them to speak out.

Dr. Herbison has a Bachelor of Science degree from Ithaca College in Corporate Communications with an emphasis on Training Design and holds the Certified Financial Planner (CFP®) Certification. Dr. Herbison earned the following American College designations: Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC®) in 1998, Chartered Advisor for Senior Living (CASL®) in 2005, and the Chartered Leadership Fellow (CLF®) in 2010. Dr. Herbison earned the Masters of Science in Management (MSM) degree at The American College in 2008 and his doctoral degree in Business Administration at Wilmington University in 2013. Dr. Herbison serves as chair of the George Joseph and Dick Liddy Chair in Field Leadership. Before joining The American College, Dr. Herbison worked as a Registered Representative, Investment Advisor, and Regional Vice President for AXA.  During his 10-year tenure with the company, Dr. Herbison was honored as an Elite Regional Vice President.

Back to advisory board >